Help with NTW2: Steam failed to launch...

Support and FAQ's for NTW 2
popnfresh
Villein
Villein

Help with NTW2: Steam failed to launch...

Postby popnfresh » Sat Jan 19, 2008 9:10 pm

I am a complete PC noob btw.
Last night I bought RTW Gold on Steam (pretty much for the sole purpose of getting this mod), and I eagerly downloaded the mod, unzipped etcetera. However, whenever I try and run the mod it doesn't work. Most recently when I made my third attempt to redo the whole process, and thought I was being clever by installing the mod to the RTW gold directory in steam (which is in Program File >> Valve >> Steam >> SteamApps>> Common>> Rome Total War Gold edition, and now whenever I try to play the mod it says ERROR: Steam failed to launch.
If anybody has any suggestions whatsoever as to how to fix this problem, please post quickly as I have literally been googling an answer to this question all evening and cannot find it.
Thanks! :)

Herr Lindstrom
Gentleman
Gentleman

Postby Herr Lindstrom » Tue Jan 29, 2008 9:19 am

Most mods that are for games, using the steam engine, are steam compatible. And as far as i know N2TW does not use or is supported by steam, and your problem is my proof to back that statement.. It sounds like if you want to be able to play N2TW you're going to have to rebuy RTW Gold unfortunately... In my oppinion I would never trust Steam with my life. Thats why i gave my account info to my best friend whom i can trust..

Anyways thats all the help i could give you. Its more of bad news actually...

Btw RTW gold has problems with the CD keys that the give you on those green cards. If it doesnt work just contact SEGA support and they should give you a new one within a few days :wink:
Why this a-cursed 100 character limit again?

Lord Badger
Honourary Lord
Honourary Lord

Postby Lord Badger » Tue Jan 29, 2008 9:52 am

Hi there,