Unit speed and stamina?

Downloads, info and technical help for Napoleonic Total War 3
imonoz
Villein
Villein

Unit speed and stamina?

Postby imonoz » Mon Jul 22, 2019 12:50 pm

TL;DR at the bottom-

So I started playing this game some weeks ago, it's fun and all but I don't really like the way unit speed works.. Playing a "lesser" nations feels very limited, with almost no ability to successfully go into melee (because the troops run so slow and gets exhausted too fast), and always getting outmanuvered by the swift French troops who reaches most of the mid-points faster (this I agree with however, that the walking speed for French troops are faster).

In my opinion, it would be more logical (and fun) if the running speed for the infantry was the same between nations, so that everyone had the oppurtunity of closing the distance (if their nation-morale allows it). But still have it so that walking speed is different (I believe the French were faster in their maneuvers historically, so I fully support this, but I do not believe they ran faster than everybody else when charging....). This whole thing where there's different running speeds for the nations brings some balancing issues in terms of stamina imo. I THINK that stamina is decided by the amount of time the unit runs AND NOT the distance the unit travels (which would be more logical to me). This means (if stamina works as I think it does, I haven't really checked this in detail) basically all French troops have way better stamina than the rest and I just think all these advantages makes France way too overpowered, even for the 12 points the best one has... Basically to the point where I think it's really unfun to play with a nation except for France and perhaps Russia.